There’s numerous factors to consider when developers are planning new master-planned communities, from figuring out the right mix of residential and commercial to amenity offerings, landscape architecture, public services, transportation, and so much more. To garner an industry award, such as a Gold Nugget, the community typically checks all those boxes and offers something additional.

The following six master plans—in Arizona, California, Hawaii, and Utah—were all recognized as Master Plan Communities of the Year in the Gold Nugget Awards from the years 2018 to 2022 for their ability to stand out from the crowd. Now in its 60th year, the program is in search of not only another unique master plan but also projects in over 50 categories, including single-family production, interior design, custom homes, multifamily, affordable, renovations, mixed-use, and commercial.

The program is currently accepting submissions through March 31, with the awards ceremony May 24 during PCBC, the Pacific Coast’s regional conference and trade show for real estate development.

Take a peek at the award-winning communities and their key players below and don’t forget to submit your homes or communities to the awards by the end of the month.

2022 Master Plan Community of the Year: Sterling Grove, Surprise, Arizona
Builder: Toll Brothers; Architect: PHX Architecture, BSB Design, KTGY

Joshua Caldwell

2021 Master Plan Community of the Year: Miralon, Palm Springs, California
Builder/Developer: Freehold Communities; Architect: Robert Hidey Architects

Chet Frolich

2020 Master Plan Community of the Year: Great Park Neighborhoods, Irvine, California
Developer/Planner: FivePoint; Designer: BrightView Design Group

Tsutsumida Pictures

2019 Master Plan Community of the Year: Daybreak, South Jordan, Utah
Developer/Planner: Daybreak Communities

Courtesy Daybreak Communities

2018 Master Plan Community of the Year I: Ward Village, Honolulu
Developer: Howard Hughes Corp.; Planner: SWA Group

Courtesy Howard Hughes Corp.

2018 Master Plan Community of the Year II: Esencia, Rancho Mission Viejo, California
Developer: Rancho Mission Viejo; Planner: SWA Group; Architect: Robert Hidey Architects

Jonnu Singleton/SWA