Remodelers from both coasts and three states are finalists for the 2010 Fred Case Remodeling Entrepreneur of the Year Award. Chosen by a panel of judges from Case Design/Remodeling, Hanley Wood, and HarvardUniversity’s Joint Center for Housing Studies, the names were announced prior to the Big50 Awards Dinner at the Remodeling Leadership Conference, May 15 in Alexandria, Va.


The Fred Case Remodeling Entrepreneur of the Year Award was created in 2007 to honor and recognize the entrepreneurial spirit of remodelers and the importance of creativity and innovation to the industry. The only industry award to come with cash prizes, it is modeled after the professional achievements of Fred Case, who is founder and CEO of Case Design/Remodeling and is credited as the pioneer of the design/build concept in the 1970s.


2010 finalists, and excerpts of remarks by Mark Richardson, co-chairman of Case Design/Remodeling:

Jeff Grundahl, JG Development, Blue Mounds, Wisc.

“…Jeff continues to exemplify an entrepreneurial spirit even in these down economic times…. Owns or has ownership in six companies…. [including] a commercial general contracting company and a real estate brokerage firm.”


Glen Lumia, Creative Design Construction, Northvale, N.J.

“… celebrating the 22nd anniversary of his company.… a genuine focus for the company on a work-life balance. …created 5 divisions within the company to help keep things consistent as the market cycles adjusted. …an open book management style… incentive plan based on net profit … His philosophy and company culture truly exemplify an entrepreneurial spirit.”


Gary Marrokal, Marrokal Design & Remodeling, Lakeside, Calif.

“…founded Marrokal Design & Remodeling in 1981…. Built a company that is recognized locally and nationally as a leader in business practices, ethics and award-winning, green-certified design. …created a working design center as opposed to a traditional showroom. …Potential clients are also introduced early on to members of the drafting and interior design teams that will be working on their homes….”


Matt Plaskoff, Plaskoff Construction and One Week Bath, Woodland Hills, Calif.

“…Plaskoff Construction is celebrating its 23rd year in business. …At dinner one night in 1999 he conceived ' Go online. Design the bath. We show up. Done in a week. Fast. Efficient. Consistent.' He drew the logo on a napkin, and spent the next five years developing the business plan, financial models and researching the market and challenges. Since 2004, One Week Bath has built hundreds of bathrooms with over a 96% customer satisfaction rating. … latest endeavor is to launch replicated One Week Baths in new locations....”


Overall, said Richardson, the finalists of this year’s Fred Case Remodeling Entrepreneur of the Year Award embrace the entrepreneurial spirit and determination necessary to achieve success in the remodeling arena.  “Our finalists have blazed a trail of leadership and innovation throughout their careers, setting the benchmark for other remodeling professionals to follow.”


The winner of the 2010 Fred Case Award will receive an additional cash prize at the Remodeling Show in September, and will be featured in the September issue of REMODELING.


For more information about the award, email [email protected].


For REMODELING coverage of previous Fred Case Award winners, click on the links below.

2007 winner

2008 winner

2009 finalists

2009 winner


Leah Thayer, senior editor, REMODELING