Well-respected practitioners, educators, researchers, and organizational leaders from across the country comprise the 2013 nominees for The Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing. The Hanley Award, now in its fourth year, is sponsored by The Hanley Foundation, ECOHOME, and BUILDER, and the winner will be awarded a $50,000 prize—the largest annual award established in the residential design and construction industry. Past winners are Edward Mazria of Architecture 2030; Alex Wilson of Building Green, Environmental Building News, and the Resilient Design Institute; and Sam Rashkin of the U.S. Department of Energy. 

The 2013 nominees are:  

  • John Abrams
    Founder, South Mountain Company, Martha’s Vineyard, Mass.
  • Bob Berkebile, FAIA
    Founding Principal, BNIM Architects, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Dennis Creech
    Co-founder, Southface Energy Institute, Atlanta
  • Douglas Farr
    Founder, Farr Associates, Chicago
  • Mark LaLiberte
    Founder, LaLiberte Online, Scottsdale, Ariz.
  • Christopher Leinberger
    President, LOCUS; Senior Fellow, The Brookings Institution, Washington D.C.
  • Sarah Susanka, FAIA
    Architect and Author of The Not So Big Series, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Steven Winter, FAIA
    Founder, Steven Winter Associates, Norwalk, Conn.

This year’s judges are Michael J. Hanley, president of the Hanley Foundation and creator of The Hanley Award; Frank Anton, vice chairman of Hanley Wood; Sam Rashkin, 2012 Hanley Award recipient and chief architect for the Department of Energy Building Technologies Program;   Eden Brukman, principal at Concenter Solutions and former vice president of the Living Future Institute; and Aurora Sharrard, PhD, vice president, Innovation, Green Building Alliance. The Hanley Award will be presented to the winner on Sept. 4, 2013, at the annual Hanley Award Dinner in Washington, D.C.  To learn more about the award, click here.