Ringling Museum Glass Pavilion Architects L&W Ryan Gamma

ARCHITECT's Miabelle Salzano reports that the Florida chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) announced the latest winners of its annual Florida/Caribbean Honor & Design Awards during its convention and trade show in July. The 2018 awards recognized firms from 11 Florida cities and Puerto Rico for design excellence and their contributions to the architecture profession.

Within the design awards, winning projects were recognized with both merit and honor awards. This year’s program recognized 15 projects with honor awards, including work by Seibert Architects in Sarasota, Fla., a project by DAG Architects in Destin, Fla., and another by Díaz Paunetto Arquitectos in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Check out the projects recognized with a design honor award below. A full list of winners is available on AIA Florida’s website.

The jury members, all based in London, were Jonathan Rose, principal of design and planning at AECOM; Brian Eckersley, a senior director at Eckersley O'Callaghan; Jamie Fobert, director at Jamie Fobert Architects; and Sanya Polescuk, founder of Sanya Polescuk Architects. The four-person jury presented design awards in eight categories: the Award of Excellence for Renovations and Additions; the Award of Excellence for Historic Preservation and Restoration; the Award of Excellence for Interiors; the Award of Excellence for New Work; the Award for Unbuilt Design; the Theoretical and Research Design Award; the Award for Masonry in Design; and the Test of Time Award. An object, practitioners, and firms were also recognized in an additional 10 honor awards.

Read More