In some states, residents have to work many more days than in others before they start working for themselves on what is called "tax freedom day."

MarketWatch staffer Catey Hill taps the Tax Foundation data mine for a state-by-state dashboard of when respective residents earn enough money to pay federal, state, and local taxes. Nationally, it takes until April 24. Hill writes:

In some states — including New York, Connecticut, New Jersey and Massachusetts — residents will have to work into May before they achieve tax freedom. That’s largely because these are higher tax and higher income states. In others — like Mississippi, Tennessee and Alabama — residents have already achieved tax freedom.

Time to move?

Read more >