By Matthew Power.

White Hats

The Judges

Listed alphabetically are the individuals nominated for the 2003 award. BUILDER and Hearthstone are proud to salute them for their continued commitment to making a difference in the lives of others and their communities.

Nominee--Nominated by Willard Berkenpas Sr., Berkenpas Builders, Grand Rapids, Mich.--Bethany Christian Services

Darrell Bickell, DTB Custom Carpentry, Hanson, Mass. --South Shore Habitat for Humanity

Peter Burton, Burton Katzman Development, Bingham Farms, Mich.--Lighthouse of Oakland County

Alonzo Cantu, Cantu Construction and Development Co., McAllen, Texas

Alan Christy, HCS Builders, Ames, Iowa--Story County Habitat for Humanity

Eddie Cretin, Cretin Homes, LaPlace, La.--Upward Community Services

John Crosland Jr., Crosland Group, Charlotte, N.C. --Mecklenburg Development Corp.

Joseph Davis, The Irvine Co., Newport Beach, Calif. --Orange County Council, Boy Scouts of America

Ralph Drees, The Drees, Co., Fort Mitchell, Ky.--Congressman Ken Lucas of Fourth District of Kentucky

Jay Ence, Ence Construction, St. George, Utah--Doctor's Free Clinic

Michael Garabedian, Garabedian Homes, Colleyville, Texas--Michael Angel Program

Vince Ghiloni, Ghiloni Custom Builders, Newark, Ohio --Licking County Coalition for Housing

Richard Goodwin, Goodwin Enterprises, Mount Laurel, N.J.--Neve Shalom/Wahat Al-Salam Goodwin School for Peace Building

Dixie Goolsby, Master Custom Builder Council, Winter Park, Fla.--Give Kids the World Foundation

Miller Gorrie, Branfield and Gorrie, General Contractors, Birmingham, Mich.--March of Dimes Birth Defect Foundation

Bernard Iacovangelo, Faber Homes, Rochester, N.Y. --Rochester HBA

Merwyn Koster, Quest Development, Hudsonville, Mich.--International Aid

Allen Lankford, W.A. Lankford Construction Co., North Wilkesboro, N.C.--Wilkes County HBA

Tom Leinhauser, ODDO and Kelleher Builders and Remodelers, Collingdale, Pa.--Habitat for Humanity of Chester County

Jacob Lucas, Jacob Lucas builder, Grand Rapids, Mich.--Christian Reformed World Relief Committee

Frank Mairano, Frank J. Mairano and Associates, Collinsville, Conn.--Cornelia de Lange Syndrome Foundation; The Connecticut Institute for the Blind/Oak Hill

Donald Manekin, Manekin Corp., Columbia, Md. --Chesapeake Habitat for Humanity

Bruce McMullin, MAC Development, Midvale, Utah --choiceHUMANITARIAN

Mercedes Homes, Melbourne, Fla.--Space Coast Early Intervention Center

Vance Meyer, Pardee Construction, Los Angeles--BIA of Southern California/HomeAid GLAV

Patrick K. Neal, Neal Custom Homes and Neal Communities, Bradenton, Fla.--Mote Marine Laboratory

Dave Neary, WestLand Construction, Signal Hill, Calif. --Habitat for Humanity South Bay Long Beach

Ed Nicholson, Nicholson Builders, Richmond, Ind. --Habitat for Humanity of Greater Richmond, Ind.

Jeffrey Orleans, Orleans Homebuilders, Bensalem, Pa. --Delaware Valley Habitat for Humanity

Tom Pannell, PDC Homes, Knoxville, Tenn.--Knoxville Habitat for Humanity

Jeffrey Rutt, Keystone Custom Homes, Willow Street, Pa.--Hope International

Walter Seinsheimer Jr., Dolphin Architects and Builders, Johns Island, S.C.--Gun Stoppers

Paul Shoopman, Dura Builders, Indianapolis, Ind., Plainfield Plus

Barton Smith Jr., S.J.S. Associates, Marion, Ind. --Sagamore Council, Boy Scouts of America

Bob Thompson, R.N. Thompson and Associates, Indianapolis--St. Mary's Child Center

Mary Ann Umbrino, Umbrino Construction, Pt. Pleasant, N.J.--Pt. Pleasant Hospital Guild

John Weicht, John C. Weicht and Associates, Elk River, Minn.--Central Lutheran Church

John Westrum, Westrum Development Co., Ft. Washington, Pa.--HBA of Bucks and Montgomery counties

Pete Zyta, Zyta Construction, Coos Bay, Ore.--HBA of Southwestern Oregon

* Bernard Drueding III, B.J. Drueding Builders, president, a Wayne, Pa. based home builder and one of last year's recipients of the Hearthstone Builder Lifetime Public Service Award

* Jamie S. Gorelick, vice chair, Fannie Mae, the nation's largest source of funds for home mortgages

* Keith Johnson, CEO, Fieldstone Communities, San Diego, and the 2001 grand award winner of the Hearthstone Builder Lifetime Public Service Award

* Bob Mitchell, chairman and CEO, Mitchell and Best, a Rockville, Md. based home builder

* Lewis S. Ranieri, chairman and founder of Hyperion Partners, an investment partnership with funds backed by major institutional investors

* Nicholas P. Retsinas, director of the Joint Center for Housing Studies, which conducts research to examine and address America's most critical housing and community development needs

* David Weekley, CEO, David Weekley Homes, Houston

* John Wieland, CEO, Wieland Homes, Atlanta, and the 2002 grand award winner of the Hearthstone Builder Lifetime Public Service Award


The judges were asked to measure the nominees' charitable activities against these six criteria:

* Lifetime commitment: The builder demonstrates a lifetime of commitment to charitable work.

* Depth of commitment: The builder shows a significant commitment in terms of personal time and resources contributed to charitable activities.

* Significance of builder's contribution: The builder has made a significant difference both in the number of people affected and in the impact on those who have benefited from the builder's involvement.

* Inspirational value: The builder inspires many others to become more involved in community service activities.

* Significance of charity: Highest preference is given to charities that assist the unfortunate and underprivileged. After this, significant weight is given to charities that involve housing.

* Ability of charities to use the reward: The charity should be one that can readily use the award in a productive manner.

Call for Nominations

All for-profit builders or lot developers are eligible as either individuals or companies for the Hearthstone BUILDER Lifetime Public Service Award. Builders may nominate themselves or be nominated by other builders or by the charities, nonprofits, or government organizations they have helped.

BUILDER will begin accepting nominations starting March 14, 2003. To request a nomination form, contact Loretta Williams at 202-736-3455 or via e-mail at