The NAHB Research Center recently announced the winners of the 2008 National Housing Quality (NHQ) Awards, presented annually to home builders and trade companies that demonstrate best-in-class customer satisfaction and business management standards in residential construction. The NHQ Awards, which are patterned after the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, represent the highest recognition by the home building industry for quality achievement.

The NHQ Awards are open to all U.S. residential construction companies. Entries are judged by a panel of industry experts who assess the level of quality in the company's construction, sales, business management, and warranty services practices.

Winning an NHQ Award requires more than just operating a great home building company. Not only do candidates have to implement sophisticated operating processes that improve performance, but those processes must also be documented in an extensive application and verified through a site visit by NHQ Award judges.

This year, the judges selected five winners in the Silver Award category (there were no gold winners) in two divisions:

  • Builder Division: Barratt American, Carlsbad, Calif.
  • Builder Division: Mercedes Homes, Melbourne, Fla.
  • Builder Division: Mungo Homes, Irmo, S.C.
  • Builder Division: Pringle Development, Eustis, Fla.
  • Trade Division: Fireside Hearth & Home, Lakeville, Minn.
  • Preparing an NHQ application is also an important step toward improving quality. Program participants benefit from the introspective process of preparing an application, as well as the insightful feedback received from the expert judging panel.

    Michael Luzier, NAHB Research Center president, states that, “National Housing Quality Award winners represent the best of the best in the home building industry, and we are extremely proud to recognize these leaders for their dedication, customer focus, and exceptional quality achievement.

    Learn more about markets featured in this article: San Diego, CA.