As energy costs continue to rise, consumers are looking for new techniques to help them reduce their energy consumption and lower their utility bills. In response to their customers' concerns, more of today's home builders are incorporating features that make homes more energy efficient, with less of an impact on the surrounding environment.

A distinguished group of these energy-conscious builders will be honored for their vision at the 2006 EnergyValue Housing Awards (EVHA), now in its 11th year. Held during the International Builders' Show, the EVHA recognizes builders that voluntarily integrate energy efficiency into the design, construction, and marketing of new homes. It also educates builders and the public about energy-conscious home building. Award-winning architect and author Sarah Susanka will keynote this year's ceremony, sharing insight from her “build better, not bigger” approach to architecture.

This year's finalists were evaluated by a panel of noted energy-efficiency experts. Unfortunately, only one finalist will earn the prestigious designation of EVHA Builder of the Year. The finalists for 2006 are:

  • AndersonSargent Custom Builder
  • Applegren Construction
  • Aspen Homes of Colorado
  • Big Horn Builders
  • Chisholm Creek Development
  • Chuck Miller Construction
  • The Cohousing Co.
  • Ence Homes
  • Ferrier Builders
  • Fireside Home Construction
  • Palm Harbor Homes
  • Pardee Homes
  • Skyline Homes
  • Stitt Energy Systems
  • Sunterra Homes
  • Tierra Concrete Homes
  • TJ Bednar Homes

The announcement of the EVHA winners will be held until the Jan. 11 ceremony, but there is still time to vote online and select the winner of the “People's Choice” award. Visit the EVHA Web site at by Jan. 10 to vote and to purchase tickets. For more information, contact Kevin Mo, EVHAprogram manager, at 301-430-6210 or