Seven distinguished green building practitioners who are leading the building profession forward in innovative ways comprise the 2014 slate of nominees for The Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainability. The Hanley Award, now in its fifth year, recognizes leaders in architecture, engineering, development, construction, research, education, and environmental advocacy for their deep and long-standing commitment and contributions to advancing sustainability across the built environment. The award carries a $50,000 prize—the largest of its kind in the industry—and is sponsored by The Hanley Foundation, and BUILDER and ECOBUILDING REVIEW magazines. Previous winners include Edward Mazria of Architecture 2030; Alex Wilson of, Environmental Building Newsand the Resilient Design InstituteSam Rashkin of the U.S. Department of Energy; and Dennis Creech of Southface.

The 2014 nominees are:

The year's Hanley Award jury comprises Michael J. Hanley, president of The Hanley Foundation and creator of The Hanley Award; Frank Anton, vice chairman of Hanley Wood; Dennis Creech, 2013 recipient of the Hanley Award and co-founder and executive director of Southface; Judith Webb, senior vice president of marketing and strategy for the U.S. Green Building Council; and Michelle Desiderio, vice president of innovation services for Home Innovations Research Labs.

The 2014 Hanley Award will be presented to the winner on Oct. 21 at a formal dinner to be held during Greenbuild International Conference and Expo in New Orleans. Click here to learn more about the award and its past recipients.

Learn more about markets featured in this article: Austin, TX.