The 2016 Wm. S. Marvin Hall of Fame for Design Excellence inductees have spent their careers creating housing that expertly responds to client demand. Although hailing from different backgrounds and focusing on different markets, they share a passion for crafting stunning projects that are tailored to the site and situation.

This year the program honors five architects and one builder/developer: Bill Leddy, Marsha Maytum, and Richard Stacy of Leddy Maytum Stacy, San Francisco; Robert Youngentob, president of Bethesda, Md.–based EYA; and Stephen Kieran and James Timberlake, founders of KieranTimberlake, Philadelphia. Their commitment to cutting-edge residential work makes them standouts in the industry. Click on each headline to read in-depth profiles of each winner.

Marsha Maytum, Bill Leddy, and Richard Stacy (left to right)
Colin Lenton Marsha Maytum, Bill Leddy, and Richard Stacy (left to right)

Leddy Maytum Stacy makes good architecture accessible to everyone.

Robert Youngentob
Colin Lenton Robert Youngentob

EYA's Robert Youngentob brings sophisticated multifamily housing to D.C.'s close-in neighborhoods.

James Timberlake (left) and Stephan Kieran
Colin Lenton James Timberlake (left) and Stephan Kieran

Stephan Kieran and James Timberlake share a deeply held, inquisitive approach to the art and craft of architecture.