Twelve builders and remodelers from nine states have been selected to receive the 2011 EnergyValue Housing Award (EVHA), the nation’s preeminent energy-efficiency award honoring those who voluntarily incorporate energy efficiency into all aspects of new-home construction and existing-home renovation. During the award ceremony in January 2012, one award recipient from among the finalists will ultimately be named Builder of the Year, and one will be named Remodeler of the Year for the Existing Homes category.

Now in its 16th year, the EVHA is supported by the DOE through its Building America program, the NAHB, and the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, in addition to the NAHB Research Center. The EVHA challenges builders to elevate standards for energy-efficient new construction and remodeling, provides educational opportunities for building professionals, and fosters the adoption of energy-efficiency principles.

Finalists were selected from projects in three climate regions (cold, moderate, hot) and five categories (affordable, custom/demonstration, multifamily, production, and existing homes).

The 2011 EVHA finalists are:

Baldwin Homes, Arnold, Md.; Cobblestone Homes, Saginaw, Mich.; CVH, dba Clifton View Homes, Coupeville, Wash.; DOE Building America Team of Building Media, & Green Builder Media, (ReVISION House), Las Vegas; Ferrier Custom Homes, Fort Worth, Texas; GreenCraft Builders, Lewisville, Texas; Imagine Homes, San Antonio; Meritage Homes, Scottsdale, Ariz.; Near Zero Maine, Vasselboro, Maine; Scott Homes, Olympia, Wash.; Treasure Homes, Wheatfield, Ind.; Wathen-Castanos Hybrid Homes, Fresno, Calif.

The public is invited to vote for the 2011 EVHA People’s Choice Award at